Is Color Club Vegan?
Yes. All of Color Club nail polish are vegan and don’t contain any animal-derived ingredients.
I was recently informed by an ethical elephant reader that she spotted shellac listed on some of Color Club’s nail polish ingredient labels. Shellac is not a vegan ingredient, it is derived from the female lac bug and is commonly used in traditional nail polish.
I was surprised to hear this because I’ve always believed Color Club to be a 100% vegan nail polish brand and upon looking at the small ingredient label of some of the Color Club nail polish I owned, I also spotted shellac on the ingredient list.
To my disappointment, I emailed Color Club and they kindly cleared things up and confirmed to me that shellac is no longer used in any of their nail products and that I have some older bottles with an outdated label.
“Thanks for the additional info. It looks like you have a few older bottles. I was able to confirm with my regulatory manager that shellac is no longer used in our nail products. Because our labels are ordered in very large quantities, the ingredient was only recently removed from the ingredient deck and older stock may still be circulating with the outdated label.” – Color Club Representative
So don’t be alarmed if your Color Club nail polish bottle says it contains shellac, those labels are just outdated. All of Color Club nail polishes are indeed vegan!!